Prospecting, the first step in a sales process

Prospection, or should we say, finding (potential) customers, is a fase in the sales process, that is well-known by every entrepreneur, manager, sales manager or seller. But how does one start making a prospection list? What is important? Which conditions must the prospects in your list meet? Check this blog article for more details and information.

     

How to start prospecting?

Finding customers is a challenge; finding the right customers is a talent. Every company is depending on its customer base. To keep this base as healthy as possible and to provide it with sufficient growth potential, it is important to prospect. But where do you start?

First of all it is important to know who is in your current customer base. A CRM-system (Customer Relationship Management) could be a useful tool to make sure you get a quick and clear overview of the history of every client. When did he last order something? What was his budget? When was his last call? Where is the corporate seat located? These could all be important questions when it is time to make a new appointment with your customer.

Your CRM-system clearly indicates whether or not your customer data are properly maintained. It also gives you a good idea of which customer is responsible for what turnover. You may have heard about Pareto’s principle, 20% of your customers, after all, ensures 80% of your turnover. Once you have gathered all this information, it is time to get started on a new prospect list.

     

ProspectFinder

     

Create a prospect list

To make a prospect list that meets your needs you should first determine (your) important parameters. In which region would you like to prospect? Should the companies you wish to contact be active in certain sectors? You must ask yourself plenty of questions to obtain the most optimal list.

When you can no longer see the forest for the trees or you don’t really know which criteria are more important, a few handy online tools can help you. One of those tools for b2b prospection is the renewed Trends Top ProspectFinder.

Through an extensive selection of personal criteria, ProspectFinder allows you to make your own prospection lists. These lists can be sorted and exported, contacts and most important fields included.

     

A few pointers for prospection

     
Point 1: Only make prospect lists when you really want to 

One day you feel better than the next. Potential clients will feel your bad mood and you will scare them off unknowingly. Smile during your telephone conversation and it will give positive vibes.

     

     
Point 3: Search for the perfect elevator pitch

This is important for telephone calls (cold calling) as well as face-to-face conversations. Is your time limited? Give a brief and powerful resume of who you are, what you do and what you can mean for the other party. Afterwards the conversation will run smoother and your interlocutor can make a better estimation of the topic of conversation.

     

     
Point 2: Prepare yourself and compose a good prospecting file

To draw up a good prospecting file is easy with an online tool like the Trends Top ProspectFinder. It is important to keep track of all the conversations with your prospects in a CRM-system in order to save yourself a huge amount of time and work.

Prospecter, la première étape pour le processus de vente

La prospection, ou recherche de clients (potentiels), est une étape du processus de vente à laquelle sera confronté tout entrepreneur, manager, directeur commercial ou commercial. Mais par où commencer pour faire une liste de prospects ? Qu’est-ce qui est important ? Quels sont les conditions que les prospects de votre liste doivent remplir ? Dans l’article de blog ci-dessous, nous y reviendrons plus en détail. 

     

Par où commencer pour prospecter?

Trouver de nouveaux clients est un défi et demande un réel talent. Chaque entreprise est tributaire de sa clientèle. Pour garder cette clientèle aussi saine que possible et lui offrir un potentiel de croissance suffisant, il est important de prospecter en tant qu’entreprise / vendeur. Mais par où commencer ?

Tout d’abord, il est important de savoir qui fait partie de votre clientèle actuelle. Pour ce fait, Un système CRM (Customer Relationship Management) est un outil très utile. Il garantit que vous ayez une vue d’ensemble rapide et claire de l’historique de chaque client. De quand date sa dernière commande ? Quel était son budget ? Quand a eu lieu le dernier contact ? Où se situe le siège social ? Toutes les réponses à ces questions sont importantes lorsque vous recontactez un client.

Votre système CRM vous informe si vos données client sont correctement gérées. Cela vous donne également une  idée de quel client génère quel chiffre d’affaires. Comme le démontre la loi de Pareto, 20% de vos clients assurent souvent 80% de votre chiffre d’affaires. Une fois que vous avez acquis ces connaissances, nous pouvons commencer à dresser une nouvelle liste de prospects.

     

ProspectFinder

     

Faire une liste de prospection

Pour dresser une liste de prospects répondant à vos besoins, il est préférable de commencer par déterminer quels paramètres sont importants pour vous. Dans quelle région souhaitez-vous prospecter ? Dans quels secteurs les entreprises que vous souhaitez contacter doivent-elles être actives ?

Pour définir avec précision quels sont les paramètres importants pour vous, nous mettons à votre disposition des outils en ligne qui vous permettront d’y voir plus clair. L’un de ces outils de prospection B2B est le ProspectFinder proposé par Trends Top. Via une vaste combinaison de paramètres personnels, ProspectFinder vous permet de créer vos propres listes de prospects. Vous pouvez trier et exporter ces listes, et ce compris les contacts et les champs qui sont importants pour vous.

     

Trucs & astuces

     

Astuce 1: prospectez à des moments où vous en avez vraiment envie.

Il y a des jours où l’on est moins bien dans sa peau. Si vous essayez d’entrer en contact avec des clients potentiels ces jours-là, ils ressentiront le mal-être inconsciemment. Si vous souriez pendant un appel téléphonique, ils se sentiront immédiatement plus positif.

     

Prospectiebestand opmaken

     

Astuce 3: Assurez-vous d’avoir un bon pitch avant de commencer.

Cela s’applique à la fois pour une conversation téléphonique mais également pour une conversation en face à face. Votre temps est-il limité ? Commencez par une présentation rapide de qui vous êtes, ce que vous faites et ce que la société peut apporter comme service à votre interlocuteur.

     

Prospecteer met een goed gevoel

     

Astuce 2: Préparez-vous et assurez-vous d’avoir un bon dossier de prospection.

Vous pouvez constituer vous-même un dossier de prospection via un outil en ligne tel que l’outil de recherche de prospects Trends Top. Il est important que vous gardiez une trace de toutes les conversations avec les prospects de cette liste autant que possible dans un système CRM. De cette façon, vous économisez beaucoup de temps et votre travail sera rentabilisé.

     

Elevator pitch